Iowa Independent Film Festival

About the Festival


Richard Schinnow
(Festival Founder)

Tanna Frederick
(Festival Founder)

Board Members

David Frederick

Dylan Thomas

Jim Brockhohn

Linda Cooper Hall

Craig Binnebose

Janelle Binnebose

In April of 2007, Tanna Frederick and Dick Schinnow launched the first Iowa Independent Film festival in Music Man Square in Mason City. Frederick had conceived the idea with independent film maker Henry Jaglom who had just directed her in Hollywood Dreams, and the two of them convinced Schinnow that a film festival should be established in North Iowa.

After two years in Music Man Square, the festival moved to a July weekend in nearby Clear Lake, Iowa in order to attract a larger audience from the popular resortís visitors. The festival had a successful four year run in Clear Lake, but the limitations of the venues available there created some dissatisfaction with festival patrons, so when the opportunity came to move to the Historic Park Inn Hotel in Mason City, the board of directors moved quickly to make that happen.

Through the generous support of Tanna Frederick and Henry Jaglom, the festival has been visited by a number of prominent actors, directors and producers from Los Angeles and New York which have included Karen Black, David Proval, Andre Gregory, Randall Kleiser and Mark Rydell. Visits by these and numerous other filmmakers have helped to publicize the festival and make it unique to Iowa.

Get all the Updates!

Sign up for our email list!
* indicates required

Contact IIFF


Postal Mail:

Iowa Independent Film Festival
Box 109
Mason City, Iowa 50402

Follow Us:

Mason City, Iowa Film Festival
© 2016 Iowa Independent Film Festival Extima Mason City Iowa Chamber of Commerce Iowa Film Office